Mans Best Friend

Another attempt working on black and white photos.  Went to my nieces graduation party last night and I stole this shot of her boyfriend, Mark, with his little dog.

Critiques welcome.

I like the conversion except on his face.  There is too much shadow.  I used SnapSeed for the edits but there is a glitch in the selective focus so I am not able to lighten just his face a bit.

Mans Best Friend

Mans Best Friend

 

Thanks for visiting!

All comments and critiques welcome.

 

About Robin

What do I say about me?

Posted on June 21, 2015, in Black and White, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. That’s a wonderful shot of man and beast interacting. Working from the raw file would give you more options regards the shadow – for that you need lightroom or Adobe Elements as a minimum. I think you’ve done a very good job of the shot… so maybe you’re worrying unnecessarily 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! I am always my worst critic…I do have elements 12 I will start using it again epecially when working in BnW. Snapseed is just so convient.

      Like

  2. I agree with 2e0mca – it’s a beautiful shot. The contrast is lovely. Other software would allow you to lighten some of the shadowing for sure but I still love it as is.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I think it is a great shot. I didn’t notie the ‘over shadow’ until you pointed it out and then still didn’t think it looked bad. Wonderful portrait.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. A nice shot as is. Now his eyes are a tad dark. Don’t know Snapseed. (Am a Photoshop man myself) but I’m sure there is a “brightness option which you can move gradually. Just a bit until you’re satisfied. The trick is to light up the eyes without overexposing the entire picture. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Brian! SnapSeed does have a feature like that but when I use it on my tablet it won’t work properly. With my poor eyesight it is hard to see the small changes on my phone where it work perfectly.

      I do use Photoshop sometimes but it is more convenient to use SnapSeed. You should try it sometimes for those quick edits you may want to make.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Great shot

    Like

Leave a Reply

