Throwback Thursday*

During my venture into Salem County New Jersey this past weekend I came across this abandoned farm.  The grass was overgrown and the red house is a bit tattered, while the barn lacked any real color.

Often times when I see an abandoned house I wonder why the family left and what their life may have been like. At other times I imagine buying the property and restoring it to its past glory.

1429730140210

DSC09625

That little black dot on the roof of the house is a vulture.   It was huge.  I   managed to capture a quick picture of him before he slipped behind the barn.

-

Thanks for visiting!

All comments welcome.

*Yes I know it is officially Friday morning here but it is still Thursday on the west coast.

About Robin

What do I say about me?

Posted on April 23, 2015, in Throw Back Thursday and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 21 Comments.

  1. There is something with this old abandoned houses. Very nice photos!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Like something out of a film.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. that looks so beautiful and cool 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I vote for buying it and restoring it. A lot of character there. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I love that first pictures!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. You made both the barn and house pretty, at least for a few minutes. I can see why you were attracted to them (i.e., you showed me what you saw). The hawk was great too – you really have to move fast. I had one overhead when I took my walk the other day and by the time I swung my camera up, it was gone to the far end.

    Nancy

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I wonder about abandoned houses too and like to think that at one time they were filled with love and happiness. There is beauty in them though even when they stand neglected. Enjoyed your photos a lot.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I couldn’t agree more. Old, abandoned houses also make me think of the families that lived there. This farm/barn would be nice to buy and rehab!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. When I look at it I see people aged and in need of restoration. Lovely photo

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Thank you Relic . I can imagine an old couple sitting on the porch just watching the traffic wiz by.

    Like

  11. Such a lovely house to fall into disrepair.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

